Book Series Review: The Plated Prisoner by Raven Kennedy

The Plated Prisoner series by Raven Kennedy was like stumbling upon a treasure chest of storytelling. Each book is a gem, intricately crafted and shining with depth.

The Plated Prisoner by Raven Kennedy

TitleThe Plated Prisoner
AuthorRaven Kennedy
GenreFantasy, Fiction, Romance
Publication DateJanuary 1, 2022
Number of Books4 (and one upcoming in December)

Where to Purchase


In Gild, we’re introduced to a universe unlike any other. Imagine a city where gold isn’t just a symbol of wealth—it’s everything. Gold floors, walls, furniture; a city glimmering in opulence. Our protagonist finds herself pulled from obscurity and placed on a pedestal in this golden realm by none other than King Midas.

The relationship between the protagonist and King Midas is the highlight of this installment. He saved her, made her his “precious,” and she gave him her heart. But as they say, not all that glitters is gold. There’s a realization that the luxury she’s enveloped in is just a gilded cage. The layers of deception and betrayal culminate in a realization that perhaps King Midas isn’t who she thought he was.

The strength of this book lies in its character development, the world-building, and the reimagination of the King Midas myth. The protagonist’s journey from the slums to the palace, her experiences, and her emotions are so vividly portrayed that I felt like I was living her life.


Glint builds upon the foundation laid in Gild. Ten years have passed, and our heroine’s life takes another unexpected turn. She finds herself as a prisoner of the Fourth Kingdom’s army, becoming a pawn in a larger game of power and politics. The stakes are higher, the dangers more palpable.

Enter Commander Rip. This character is a masterpiece. Known for his ruthlessness, he’s the embodiment of power and danger. Yet, there’s depth to him—a fae with a history that’s intertwined with the very fabric of Orea. The dynamic between Rip and the protagonist is electrifying. Their interactions, filled with tension and an undercurrent of attraction, make for a compelling read.

The world of Orea expands in Glint, giving readers a broader perspective on the politics, power plays, and the role of the fae. This book is a testament to Kennedy’s storytelling prowess, blending romance, intrigue, and magic in a tantalizing mix.


Gleam is a whirlwind of emotions. The protagonist’s journey takes another dramatic turn as she finds herself in unfamiliar territory, surrounded by potential threats and allies. The theme of confinement and the realizations that come with it are central to this book.

King Ravinger is introduced, and oh, what an introduction it is! Sinister, powerful, yet undeniably seductive, he brings with him a wave of new challenges and emotions for our protagonist. Their relationship, laden with doubt, intrigue, and a magnetic pull, adds depth to the narrative.

The duality of regret and revenge plays out beautifully in Gleam. The protagonist’s resolve to not be ensnared again, to set her own traps, and to navigate the web of royal schemes makes this installment a gripping read.


By the time Glow comes around, the stakes are sky-high. The protagonist’s journey from being King Midas’s tool to realizing her worth and power forms the crux of this story. The imagery of a phoenix rising from the ashes, of a bird once caged now free to soar, encapsulates her journey beautifully.

The world is against her, but she’s no longer alone. With the formidable King Ravinger by her side, they become a force to be reckoned with. The dynamics between the two, the challenges they face together, and their joint resolve to not be used by anyone else make Glow a riveting read.

The Plated Prisoner Gold by Raven Kennedy


Though details on Gold are scarce, the anticipation is palpable. The teaser, “Find me in another life. Find me in them all,” promises a finale that will leave readers spellbound. One can only imagine the twists, turns, and revelations that await. We need to wait until December to find out more.

Final Thoughts

To wrap up, Raven Kennedy’s The Plated Prisoner series is a masterclass in fantasy storytelling. It combines rich world-building, compelling characters, and a plot that keeps you guessing. Each book feels like a golden treasure, and I can’t recommend it enough. If you haven’t picked up this series yet, do yourself a favor and dive in!


  • Paula Davis

    Paula Davis is a dedicated and seasoned content writer for Dreaming and Reading, where she brings her extensive knowledge and passion for literature to a wide audience of fellow book enthusiasts. With the heart of a true bookworm, Paula has immersed herself in the literary world, devouring approximately 50 books annually for the last 15 years. This impressive reading habit has not only provided her with immense joy but has also significantly honed her expertise, experience, authoritativeness, and trustworthiness in the realm of book reviews. Her insightful and well-crafted reviews reflect her deep understanding and appreciation of various genres, offering valuable guidance to readers in search of their next great read. With a finger always on the pulse of the latest literary releases, Paula Davis is a trusted voice and a go-to source for book recommendations and reviews.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top